Archive

Archive for 10/26/2009

Cloudy

10/26/2009 3 comments

After 40-days’ practice, I finally bade farewell to Uncle Liang and Aunty Zhu with my father’s comment, “It’s tolerable. Better than I imagined.” [Yeah~] But my mother’s far from content and believes I just produced too much noise. She thinks my neighbor’s gonna hate me. (But the truth is I’m much more considerate than she can ever imagine – I never produce any noise after 8pm.) When I told her that I was going to practice more and if I’m good enough I can play in the street for living some day when I’m jobless. I need a fallback. Then she grew from confusing to furious and claimed I was crazy. “We feed you over two decades to finish an MA, now you tell me you are going to play in the street?!  $%^&*@# …”

I didn’t tell her that I was JK because when you are not understood by someone there’s always no point to explain. Excuse of any kinds only makes situation worse. Why bother trying? Moreover, I don’t think it’s inferior to be a street artist to some extend. At this point, my father is more reasonable. Anyway, playing musical instruments for living sounds more practical than writing pomes or drawing pictures with little education in related fields.

Having recovered from lost, I’m planning to challenge another masterpiece. This time, I am really determined. That’s all because of a test I did online the other day, which indicated that I only had 44 years to go. 44 years only! Maybe even shorter?! I have so many things not accomplished yet, but over 1/3 of my life has passed! It crossed my mind that I saw a book a couple of years ago at a book store 101 Things to Do Before You Die that I didn’t buy at that time. Perhaps I need to grab it as guidance now. At least I should leave something for my kids, if I have any.

One of the first things I can think of is to make some records. Uncle Liang & Aunty Zhu can be counted as one, but that’s definitely not my type. I prefer western style. Unfortunately, what’s I have on hand at this moment is but Mendelssohn and Bruch. Both German, both concerto, both 30-minutes or so… which one should go first? It’s always too difficult for me to make decisions. To choose M, or to choose B? That’s the question! … After being torned between the two for several days, I finally chose M to practice first, in case my patience wears out before a second try. E Minor is just so beautiful. Too gorgeous!  Bruch is kind of heavy for people of my age. 

Anyway, I’m glad with my plan, for the first time in a long time…

Categories: 呓语